Award for Excellence in Teaching International Studies by a Postgraduate Student

This award recognises postgraduate students who have contributed to the positive learning experience of students in International Studies. You might have raised the profile of learning and teaching activity in International Studies in the higher education sector, or contributed to the dissemination of best practice in teaching and learning among BISA members, for example.

There has never been as strong a focus on learning and teaching as there is now. Winning this award could place you at the forefront of inspiring others to develop teaching excellence.

The award winner will be decided by a judging panel led by the trustee responsible for Learning and Teaching. The winner will be formally announced and the award presented at our annual conference.

Two females engaged in conversation


All postgraduate students in International Studies who engage in some higher education teaching are eligible for nomination to this award. If you have completed your programme of study and/or were appointed to a first teaching post during the current academic year, you will be eligible for the award, making a case based on teaching undertaken as a postgraduate student.

Nominations and guidance

You can nominate yourself or colleagues for this award. Departments are asked to encourage and support outstanding teachers to apply. Nominations open on Monday 9 January and close on Monday 13 February at 11.59pm (UK time). Nominations made outside of this period will not be considered.

To nominate please complete our online form. You’ll need to write a statement of case (max 500 words) and supporting evidence. We’re particularly interested to hear about innovative teaching practices and their impact on the learning experience among International Studies students. Your explanation and evidence should include many or all of the following:

  • positive contributions to learning and teaching
  • use of innovative teaching strategies
  • meeting the needs of a diverse student population
  • sharing of good teaching practice with colleagues
  • stimulating independent learning and critical thinking.

Supporting evidence should also be submitted to clearly demonstrate the outcomes of the good teaching practice. Such evidence may include recent formal and informal feedback from students or peer review, student testimonials, a short statement of support from a colleague, or details of relevant publications and conference papers. Supporting materials must be uploaded as a single pdf document.

Conditions of the award

If you win this award we’ll also ask you to write an article (500-1000 words) to be published on our website summarising your award-winning teaching activities. This article must be submitted electronically to the BISA office within one month of the presentation of the award at our annual conference. Undertaking these activities will mean that your best practice can be shared amongst other colleagues both in IR and further afield.

"I am honoured to have been selected for the Award for Postgraduate Excellence in Teaching International Studies. It means a lot for me as I really enjoy teaching and receive lots of positive emotions from working with my students. I always admire their amazing strive for knowledge that gives me energy to come up with new ways to make my classes informative and fun."
Anna Kruglova, winner - Award for Excellence in Teaching International Studies by a Postgraduate Student 2020
Anna Kruglova

Past recipients

  • 2023 Marie Robin (Panthéon-Assas université)
  • 2022 John Wood (Aberystwyth University)
  • 2021 Award furloughed due to COVID-19
  • 2020 Anna Kruglova (Queen's University Belfast)
  • 2019 Cornelia-Adriana Baciu (Dublin City University)
  • 2018 Tom Watts (University of Kent)
  • 2017 No prize awarded
  • 2016 Peter Finn (Kingston University)
  • 2015 Paul Tobin (University of York)
  • 2014 Adjustment for change of conference date
  • 2013 Victoria Loughlon (University of Edinburgh)
  • 2012 Robyn Klingler Vidra (London School of Economics)

Share this page