Excellence in Teaching International Studies by a Postgraduate Student Prize

This award recognises postgraduate students who have contributed to the positive learning experience of students in International Studies. Contributions should demonstrate excellence in your teaching contributions as a postgraduate student and may emphasise how your teaching philosophy is brought into the classroom, how students have benefited from your teaching, research or other innovative contributions to the classroom setting.

There has never been as strong a focus on learning and teaching as there is now. Winning this award could place you at the forefront of inspiring others to develop teaching excellence.

The award winner will be decided by a judging panel led by the trustee responsible for Learning and Teaching. The winner will be formally announced and the award presented at our annual conference.

Two females engaged in conversation


All postgraduate students in International Studies who engage in some higher education teaching are eligible for nomination to this award. If you have completed your programme of study and/or were appointed to a first teaching post during the current academic year, you will be eligible for the award, making a case based on teaching undertaken as a postgraduate student.

Nominations and guidance

You can nominate yourself or colleagues for this award. Departments are asked to encourage and support outstanding teachers to apply. Nominations open on Monday 8 January and close on Monday 12 February at 11.59pm (UK time). Nominations made outside of this period will not be considered.

To nominate please complete our online form. You’ll need to write a statement of case (max 500 words) and supporting evidence. We are particularly interested to hear about teaching practices that demonstrate excellence in learning opportunities and learning experiences for students in International Studies. Submissions that demonstrate innovation in teaching are welcome but are not required. Your explanation and evidence should demonstrate:

  • A positive contribution to learning and teaching;
  • where relevant, the use of innovative teaching strategies;
  • meeting the needs of a diverse student population;
  • stimulating independent learning and critical thinking.

You are also expected to submit evidence in support of your application that includes

  • The module outline (the document that states module learning objectives, aims, contact hours, modes of learning, etc).

We also encourage that you submit up to two of the following:

  • recent formal and informal feedback from students or peer review; 
  • student testimonials;
  • a short statement of support from a colleague; 
  • details of relevant publications and conference papers/presentations. 

Supporting materials must be uploaded as a single pdf document.

Conditions of the award

If you win this award we’ll also ask you to write an article (500-1000 words) to be published on our website summarising your award-winning teaching activities. This article must be submitted electronically to the BISA office within one month of the presentation of the award at our annual conference. Undertaking these activities will mean that your best practice can be shared amongst other colleagues both in IR and further afield.

"I am honoured to have been selected for the Award for Postgraduate Excellence in Teaching International Studies. It means a lot for me as I really enjoy teaching and receive lots of positive emotions from working with my students. I always admire their amazing strive for knowledge that gives me energy to come up with new ways to make my classes informative and fun."
Anna Kruglova, winner - Award for Excellence in Teaching International Studies by a Postgraduate Student 2020
Anna Kruglova

Past recipients

  • 2024 Shambhawi Tripathi (University of St Andrews)
  • 2023 Marie Robin (Panthéon-Assas université)
  • 2022 John Wood (Aberystwyth University)
  • 2021 Award furloughed due to COVID-19
  • 2020 Anna Kruglova (Queen's University Belfast)
  • 2019 Cornelia-Adriana Baciu (Dublin City University)
  • 2018 Tom Watts (University of Kent)
  • 2017 No prize awarded
  • 2016 Peter Finn (Kingston University)
  • 2015 Paul Tobin (University of York)
  • 2014 Adjustment for change of conference date
  • 2013 Victoria Loughlon (University of Edinburgh)
  • 2012 Robyn Klingler Vidra (London School of Economics)

Share this page