European Security Working Group 7th annual workshop - The Ukraine War and the remaking of European security

This event will be in University College Cork, Ireland

The 2022 Russian invasion of Ukraine has led to fundamental shifts in European security, including in Russo-Western relations, NATO and EU strategy and many countries national security and defence policies. This workshop will examine how the Ukraine war has re-made European security and the impact of various different scenarios arising from the Ukraine war on European security. The workshop will encompass empirical, theoretical, and policy-oriented perspectives.

This is a hybrid event.

The deadline for in-person registrations is 14 December 2022.

If you are PhD/ECR and need financial support, please contact the European Security Working Group at: eswg.group@bisa.ac.uk


8:30-9:00 Registration (for in-person participants)

9:00-9:15 Welcome 

9:40-10:00 Panel 1: Russia and Ukraine

Chair: Andrew Cottey

  • Martin A. Smith (Royal Military Academy Sandhurst)
  • James Ekin (non-affiliated)

  • Victoria Hudson (King’s College London)

  • Bohdana Kurylo (Oxford Brookes University)

10:45-11:00 Break

11:00-12:20 Panel 2: Institutions and Geopolitics

Chair: Nele Marianne Ewers-Peters

  • Ana Juncos (University of Bristol), Marianna Lovato (University College Dublin) & Karolina Pomorska (Leiden University)
  • Calle Håkansson (Malmö University/Swedish Institute of International Affairs)
  • Nele Marianne Ewers-Peters (Helmut-Schmidt-University Hamburg)

  • Andrew Cottey (University College Dublin)

  • Lorenzo Cladi (University of Plymouth)

12:30-1:15 Lunch

1:15-2:45 Panel 3: Partners and Non-partners

Chair: Lorenzo Cladi

  • Klaus Brummer (Katholische Universität Eichstätt-Ingolstadt)
  • Nele Marianne Ewers-Peters (Helmut-Schmidt-University Hamburg)
  • Christoph Meyer (King’s College London)

2:45-3:00 Break

3:00-4:30 Panel 4: Warfare and Capabilities

Chair: Jocelyn Mawdsley

  • Brendan Flynn (University of Galway)
  • Lance Davies (Royal Military Academy Sandhurst)
  • Tom Dyson (Royal Holloway University) & Yuryi Pashchuk (non-affiliated)

  • Tamiris Pereira dos Santos (Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul) Augusto Teixeira Junior (Federal University of Paraiba) & Eduardo Munhoz Svartman (Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul)

4:30-4:45 Break

4:45-6:15 Panel 5: European Security in a Wider Context

Chair: Nele Marianne Ewers-Peters

  • Helena Farrand Carrapico (University of Northumbria) & George Christou (University of Warwick)
  • Jocelyn Mawdsley (University of Newcastle)

  • Simon Sweeney (University of York) & Neil Winn (University of Leeds)

  • Eyüp Ersoy (King’s College London)

7pm Dinner (for in-person participants)

For more information on the programme and speakers please download the full conference programme below.

Share this page