Foreign Policy Working Group Third Annual Conference

This event will be in Cambridge, UK

Welcome to the Foreign Policy Working Group’s (FPWG) mini-conference III hosted by the Gulf Research Centre Cambridge in Cambridge. The conference will be coordinated and led by FPWG’s co-convenors, Dr Marianna Charountaki (University of Lincoln) and Dr Sharad Joshi (Middlebury Institution of International Studies). The conference on Critical Reflections on Contemporary Foreign Policy Analysis will take place on Monday, 8 July 2024 at the University Arms, Crick Ballroom.

Please note this is an in-person event only, there is no hybrid option.


9.00-9.30 Registration/tea and coffee

9.30-10.00 Welcome

10.00-11.30 Panel 1: Theoretical re-assessments of foreign policy in the here and now

  • Dr Marianna Charountaki (Senior Lecturer in International Politics, University of Lincoln)
  • Dr Amnon Aran (Professor in International Politics of the Middle East, City, University of London)
  • Dr Lesley Masters (Senior Lecturer in International Relations, Nottingham Trent University)

11.30-11.45 Coffee break

11.45-1.15 Panel 2: Economics and foreign policy: costs, capacity, and sanctions

  • Mr Ahmed Tabaqchali (Chief Strategist of AFC Iraq Fund, Visiting Fellow at the LSE Middle East Centre, Senior Fellow at the Institute of Regional and International Studies (IRIS) at AUIS, and non-resident Senior Fellow with the Atlantic Council - Iraq Initiative)
  • Dr Umid Shokri (Senior Visiting Fellow, George Mason University)
  • Dr Jean Yves Ndzana (Leiden University)

1.15-2.15 Lunch

2.15-3.30 Panel 3: Religion in foreign policy

  • Dr Sterling Jensen (Associate professor at the Mohamed Bin Zayed University for Humanities)
  • Dr Patrick Finnegan (Senior Lecturer, University of Lincoln)
  • Dr Sharad Joshi (Associate Professor, Middlebury Institute of International Studies)

3.30-3.45 Coffee break

3.45-5 Panel 4: ‘Polycrisis’: foreign policy and risk management

  • Dr Linda Yueh CBE (Fellow in Economics, St Edmund Hall, University of Oxford and Adjunct Professor in Economics, LSE)
  • Dr Chris Zebrowski (Director of the CSS, Loughborough University)
  • Dr Marie-Eve Desrosiers (Associate Professor, Graduate School in Public and International Affairs, University of Ottawa) and Dr Nic Cheeseman (Professor of Democracy, University of Birmingham)

5-5.15 Wrap up

See the attached document below for the full schedule.


Share this page