International Politics of Migration, Refugees and Diaspora Working Group Annual Best Book Award 2020

This article was published on
Book shelves

The International Politics of Migration, Refugees and Diaspora Working Group (IPMRD) is delighted to announce that nominations for its second Annual Best Book Award, for a monograph published in the field of international politics of migration during the previous year (2019), are now open.

Books should meet the thematic focus of the working group, which includes securitisation of borders; transnational diaspora, refugee and migrant politics; the relation and tensions between migration, human rights and citizenship. More details about the working group and its aims can be found on the group's webpages.


  • Books will be judged by the committee members on their rigour, originality and significance to the field
  • Books should be nominated by individuals, authors, departments, or publishers
  • Books for consideration must be monographs and cannot be edited volumes
  • The nominated book must have been published between 1 January 2019 and 31 December 2019 (authors may be required to provide proof that the book was published in the calendar year of 2019).


  • The recipient will be announced at an IPMRD Working Group event by the end of 2020 (date tbc). The selection committee for the best book award reserves the right not to make an award in any particular year.

How to apply

  • Individuals, authors, departments, and publishers may submit a nomination. A brief supporting statement is required with each nomination
  • The nomination with supporting statement should be addressed to the committee chair, Dr Sara de Jong ( Only email nominations will be considered
  • The deadline for submission of nominations is Saturday 1 August 2020
  • Individual nominators are limited to one submission but a maximum of three books can be nominated by the same publisher
  • It is the nominator's responsibility to contact the publisher and request that copies of the nominated title be sent to each of the committee members (postal addresses will be provided by email upon receipt of the nomination)
  • If copies of a book are not received by the selection committee by the date stipulated, the nomination will be excluded from consideration. Where possible, pdf or e-book versions would be welcome in addition to a hard copy
  • The award will be judged by the committee members appointed by the IPMRD Working Group (listed below).

Jury Members

Dr Sara de Jong, University of York (Chair):

Dr Myriam Fotou, University of Leicester:

Michael Gordon, McMaster University:

We look forward to receiving your nomination.

Photo by Martin Adams on Unsplash